top of page

MY PERFECT MORNING ROUTINE & SKINCARE ROUTINE|

Hello Beauties!

With the weekend approaching, I thought this would be the perfect time to share my perfect weekend morning routine with all of you!

If you have known me for a long time, you would know I was never a morning person. However, since I started working full time, got my own house, and kind of been forced to be a morning person... I am starting to like it! Don't get me wrong I do enjoy sleeping in! However, as a mom sometimes the most peaceful times or time you have to yourself is early in the morning when your little one is still fast asleep.

On these days, I have a few things that I love doing! So, I thought I would share some of the things I love and do in the morning to offer some inspiration or just if you are curious!

Alysia Harji, Morning Routine Blog , Chaos and Cuddles  (Toronto Ontario KW blogger)

1. Coffee and Updates!

The very first thing after getting out of bed and brushing my teeth is making myself a cup of coffee or a morning latte using my Nespresso Vertuo! It comes with a milk frother and the ability to make coffee or espresso! So, it is perfect for me on the days I want to be fancy and make myself a yummy vanilla latte! While making my coffee, I usually let Georgie outside in the backyard to go to the bathroom and run around! After I am done making my coffee, cuddling and letting Georgie out, I will usually go back upstairs into my bed to enjoy my coffee while scrolling my Instagram, watching a YouTube video, or checking my emails! During the summer when it is warmer I will usually go outside to enjoy my coffee! There is just something so peaceful about making your morning coffee in a cute mug and just relaxing.

2. Making the bed!

If there is one tip that you take away from this post it should be this one! I really aim to do my bed every morning even on the craziest ones, because it just makes me feel more organized, put together, and clear headed. I know it sounds so weird - but, when your room is clean and your bed is made you just feel like you have your sh*t together and you can take on the world! This could just be my clean freak side coming out, but I really do think it helps!

Alysia Harji, Morning Skincare Routine Blog , Chaos and Cuddles  (Toronto Ontario KW blogger)

3. Skincare and Stretches!

The next thing I do is - skincare. I have always been the girl with clear skin, but as soon as I reached my mid-twenties I have had some issues with my skin being either too dry or getting dark spots. I know this probably has to do with stress or that fact that I really took advantage of having good skin. I mean it's not even that bad that I should be complaining, but I think it is something that most people get insecure about! Our skin is so important and we have to be sure to take care of it- and that is why I have stuck to a skincare routine. However, I know many girls have a million steps to their skincare routine, but I do like to keep it pretty simple. I also use the same products in the morning and evening! Sometimes I'll throw in a mask or special moisturizer if I want to spice things up a bit!

I'm also looking to add more natural skincare to my routine (especially masks and mositurizers) as I have noticed a huge difference by switching to products that are more natural - so I will share some new finds soon!

My must have skincare items are:

  • Garnier Micellar Water - This is a popular one! I use it to refresh my face when I don't want to over cleanse and in the evenings I use it to remove all my makeup and give my face it's first cleanse. It is super gentle and perfect for my sensitive skin!

  • Acure - Sensitive Facial Cleanser- This one I pick up at a local GoodnessMe or it can be found at WholeFoods! It has been perfect for my sensitive skin - it is so gentle and takes off any left over makeup! I have also noticed a huge difference in breakouts or how long they last since using it - it has limited it all! I am looking to try some more products from this line soon!

  • Thayers Witch Hazel Toner in Rose Petal - This one smells AMAZING! If you love roses you will love the scent of this! But, if you don't - don't worry they have a few different scents and I believe an unscented one! I have tried the lavender one and it is pretty amazing too and really calming. But, this toner is everything - I will never use anything else. I use this after my cleanser and it takes away any makeup that I may have missed, calms my skin, reduces break outs, even outs my skin a bit, and just soothes me! I think this is what has really helped my skin!

  • The Body Shop Vitamin E Overnight Serum - This one I only use at night or a small pinch of it in the morning if I am not wearing makeup for a while because I do have very dry skin (don't use it in the morning if you have oily skin). It hydrates my skin and takes away any dry patches I have! However, it can feel heavy- but if you leave it overnight your skin looks very healthy, glowly, and well rested!

After I complete my skincare routine - I usually bring out my yoga mat in my room or downstairs and do some stretching or meditation. I have pretty bad anxiety so this really helps me clear my mind and feel ready to take on the day. I recommend stretching morning and night for anyone - it really helps!

4. Workout!

On weekend mornings when my sister/ brother stay over or when Mialyna is at a sleep over I will make my way to the gym. I love starting my mornings with a workout - I feel refreshed, energized, happier, calmer, and I just feel I look better. I LOVE cardio - so my workouts consist of 30 - 45 minutes of cardio and some weights. If Mialyna doesn't sleep in when someone is staying over or I can't make it to the gym in the morning I will do a home workout - Mialyna will usually join in! This usually includes running my stairs, doing a dance workout with Mia or YouTube at home workouts and weights! On summer days in the morning we really like going for a walk or a bike ride in the morning. If it is a day I don't hit the gym in the morning it usually gets pushed to an evening workout!

5. Breakfast

Breakfast is usually after a workout or whenever Mialyna wakes up! I usually won't have breakfast until Mialyna is out of bed and starts to get hungry! I just love sitting down in the morning to have breakfast together. So, this one probably either comes after a workout or as soon as we wake up - also depends how hungry we are! Our favs to have in the morning are breakfast tacos, egg whites and toast, or pancakes/protein pancakes! I also like to try to make some fresh juice if we have time - our latest fav is Tropical! I'll share a recipe soon!

Alysia Harji, Morning Routine Blog , Flowers Chaos and Cuddles  (Toronto Ontario KW blogger)

To end our mornings, Mialyna and I usually get ready for her dance classes that are in the early afternoon and run some errands. The one thing we usually pick up on a weekend morning are fresh flowers! Lately, I've been loving all white flowers or bright pink or purple for the spring! Last weekend we picked up these gorgeous tulips to get us excited for the spring! I recommend anyone to pick up some fresh flowers for their house. They just add a bit of life and are great to wake up to!

Well, there you have it - my perfect morning routine and skincare! To be honest, not every morning is like this (even though I wish it was) some days I wake up at noon, some days I wake up to a sick pup or daughter, or sometimes I just wake up looking like a hot mess who just wants to watch TV and eat cookies for breakfast! So, just keep that in mind- because, not everyday is a perfect peaceful morning where I have my sh*t together!

P.S all photos in this post were done by ASH Photography Services! I will be sharing more photos on my Instagram during the next week or so! We also have some great photo shoots planned so be sure to watch my socials! Also, they always include A LOT of cuddles with Mialyna and Georgie, being silly and chaos!

Until next time,

Alysia xo

RELATED POSTS |
bottom of page